Morning Fog

Just for the record…

on July 23, 2011

Nobody faults a child who can’t wait for school to be out and for summer to begin. Does anybody fault a teacher? I hope not.
If we are jumping for joy because it is summer, it is certainly not a reflection of the level of our dedication, love for the students or commitment to education. It is just that, for me at least, I get so overwhelmed and completely consumed by the job that I totally lose myself. Were I single and childless, possibly not so bad. But with a husband and three kids (okay, only one is still at home, but that doesn’t mean that the others NEVER have any demands on my time) to have a life with, and with all the never-ending work teaching involves, I just can’t seem to carve out any time for myself. Or if I do, the other things suffer. The time off in the summer is nice, but it barely makes up for the fact that I am working 60-70 hours per week the rest of the year.
Doesn’t that seem crazy? I wish I could figure out how to make my job fit my “hours.” Technically I am supposed to be working from 7:30 – 3:30, Mon – Fri. That doesn’t sound so bad. But in reality, I do some work early in the morning, and don’t usually leave until 4 or 4:30. Or later. And then there is at least a couple of hours of work at night. And usually a good, solid day’s worth on the weekend. Vacation days are usually spent catching up on school work. If you have a lot of parent issues, or just a lot of things that need to be discussed, emails and meetings can really compound the time spend. Yadda, yadda, yadda. As a mother, you never quite feel like your job is finished, always something to do…as a teacher it is much that way, but with a couple dozen kids to fret over, not just one or two.
Even summer vacation isn’t as relaxing as it could be…you don’t think we just walk out with the kids on the last day and come back when they do, right? (Okay, some manage to get pretty close to doing that, but I haven’t figured that part out yet either…)
Maybe this will be the year I get a better handle on things and figure out how to have a family, have a life, and do a good job at school too.

Does this post make me look fat?

