Morning Fog

Time Warp

on July 18, 2011

Well, life has been full and very busy since I last deigned to write something here. (I just looked up “deign” real quick-like to make sure I was using that right and ooh boy does that make me look like a snob. I absolutely do not look down on anyone who might end up reading this. No, I definitely look up to you. Worship you even. THANK YOU for coming to my party.)
School has been out for a month and the thing I am most struck by is how different I look to myself after being off from school from a month. The sun has bronzed my skin, the swimming has lightened my hair (so the greys show less…) and I have lost 10 pounds (a crumb off the cookie, but whatever). I am rested, and it shows. I am not stressed-out and it shows. I look in the mirror and I am starting to recognize myself once again. I just don’t know who I am during the school year. I was clearly not born to work.
Which brings me to my favorite phrase of the summer, and I am reminded each time I walk through a wine section of a store: Il dolce far niente. The sweetness of doing nothing. I own that sentiment. I can lounge in the sun like a lizard and if a catch a bit of a breeze I feel like I can fly with the birds and there is no place I would rather be, and I certainly wouldn’t want to ruin that feeling by actually doing something. It isn’t laziness, and it is something I appreciate during the summer more than any other time. I have no time to just do nothing during the school year, but I think that is going to change.
I wonder if I can get away with teaching my class about the sweetness of doing nothing. Oh wait, they are six. They still know all about it, and they could probably teach me a thing or two.

4 responses to “Time Warp

  1. bluesleepy says:

    I think you need to move to Italy because apparently they know how to do that to perfection. It’s mentioned, I think, in Eat Pray Love. I too would love to hone this skill. I think it is important to have downtime when we do nothing but exist.

    • Lisele says:

      I would love to live in Italy…I feel a very strong connection to the land of my mother’s birth. The time I spent there as a child and vacationing with my husband is very special to me as well.

  2. Christina says:

    It is interesting that I just read two blog posts back to back both from teachers who are currently celebrating the joys of doing nothing 🙂

Does this post make me look fat?

