Morning Fog

That time of the week

on October 17, 2009

The second in the New! Improved! I-swear-I’ll-write-every-Saturday installment plan: I have arrived.

My life is so boring and at the same time so intricate with details that it makes my brain almost numb by Saturday. So by boring, I just mean it’s the same-old thing day in and day out all week long. I get up too early without enough sleep, I gather my things and my son (who I’m now attempting to feed a hot egg breakfast to each morning and I managed to do just that 7 out of the last 8 days – we won’t discuss Friday) and we RACE to school. We manage to stop at Starbucks on the way (managed that 32 of the first 33 days of school) without being late and then I somehow get through a non-stop day teaching 6 and 7 year olds until I just want to collapse in my chair once they are gone. But NO! Parents need to have meetings. And my son is hungry. And thirsty. And wants to go home. Now. And I have a room to straighten and things to plan and things to correct. And when I get home, the husband is hungry too and dinner and cleaning and 7th grade homework and my school work that I’ve brought home and on and on and on…
until Saturday comes and I am almost catatonic. But does it end there? No, because over the weekend there are papers to catch up on and I have to plan the next week’s instruction and there are always some emails to read and answer and “extra” stuff the principal might have asked for…

My mission, and I’m trying to accept it, is to try to find a little time for myself.

Being here actually helps.

Now, I need to go finish cleaning up breakfast mess, take the dog to the groomer, take a shower and wash my hair, go to the dry cleaners, get that mani/pedi FINALLY…I’m sure there is grocery shopping to do and OF COURSE there is laundry to wash and dry and fold and an entire house to dust, vacuum and mop. YAY! I love days off!

2 responses to “That time of the week

  1. Christina says:

    Ah. Misery loves company and you KNOW I know that schedule. I applaud your success in taking a moment once a week to update this place and with your breakfast commitment. FWIW I think the Mani/pedi counts as “me” time.

  2. bluesleepy says:

    Whoa. Just reading that made me tired. I hope you can find some time to breathe every once in a while!

Does this post make me look fat?

