Morning Fog

The Longest Day-The Trip Part II

on May 17, 2008

Thursday was the longest work day of my life, if you consider that part of it consisted of watching kids for PAY and the other part of it consisted of watching kids as a VOLUNTEER. Thursday morning I worked until lunch, hightailed it home, changed clothes and then got myself over to my son’s school by 1:15, just in time to chaperone an overnight field trip aboard this tiny vessel.

It may look tiny here, but in real life, not so tiny. And, as Poolie could tell you, spending the night aboard this ship is the chance of a lifetime.

So back to my timeline, I was up at 5am, at work before 7am, and “worked” with the kids on the ship until my “watch” was over at 1am. Then I was awakened at 3:47 am when a child tripped, knocking over a long wooden bench right at my feet. I didn’t sleep much after that until they came to awaken us at 6am. So in that period of 24 hours, I had spend almost all of it surrounded by a couple dozen children, and maybe slept for 2 or 3 of them.

And I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Part III to follow when I get around to catching up on OTHER stuff…

One response to “The Longest Day-The Trip Part II

  1. bluesleepy says:

    Wow. I would be a frazzled mess, if that were me. But what a cool adventure!

Does this post make me look fat?

