Morning Fog

Nice Day

on May 11, 2008

I had a nice Mothers’ Day. It doesn’t take much to make me happy…all three kids and two significant others present is what makes it perfect. We really have a big family group for holidays now…me and my shadow, heh heh heh just thought of that, my three kids, my son-in-law and my son’s girlfriend of over 4 years, plus my mom, dad and brother. That’s 10 people and 11 when we are with the dog who (shhhhh) thinks she is human.

We had a nice brunch and hung out for awhile.
Squirt was serving mass at 6pm so mom and dad and brother went with us. What should have been a quick little mass was not! NOt only was is Mothers’ Day, and Pentecost, it was also CONFIRMATION!! I knew we were in trouble when I saw the Bishop !!! Between the Bishop, 3 priests, 1 deacon, 3 altar boys, and a standing room only crowd, it was quite the event…that lasted until 7:30 pm.

My mom nodded off several times and my dad, who isn’t even Catholic bless his heart, was pretty well done in. And my brother spent the whole time singing and responding WAY TOO LOUD in a fakey opera kind of way. Stupid baby brother. Trying to show off that you know the songs and the prayers when we all know that the best you’re going to do is a long stint in purgatory. You aren’t fooling anyone.

Okay, that was mean. I didn’t mean to be mean.
The Bishop talked about how we have to STOP looking for negatives in other people and be positive and filled with joy and happiness and hope.
So I will try that again – my wonderful brother was such an inspiration! Singling magnificently and leading everyone in prayer. Certainly a beacon of light that one!

Now I go to bed so I can get up at the ass-crack of freakin dawn to do some of the work I didn’t get to this weekend.

Adios.

One response to “Nice Day

  1. bluesleepy says:

    I don’t know why churches do that. My Confirmation was on Mother’s Day too, and there were TWENTY-TWO confirmands. It was a super-long service. I also graduated from college on Mother’s Day. I think it’s a conspiracy.

Does this post make me look fat?

