Morning Fog

To Do, and then some

on May 3, 2008

This is sort of a litany of things I need to do, all of them boring, so maybe I should just skip it and go do them.

1. Lament how boring, in a busier-than-I-know-how-to-deal-with-it way, my life is.
2. Decide that regardless of how much I should be doing, I want to blog a little.
3. Put some laundry in the washer.
4. Take a shower/wash my hair/debate rinsing Natural Instincts into it.

Addendum to #4 – re: Natural Instincts…this is how I cover my gray, which is debatable in a way. I am not terribly gray, especially for almost 50. Gah. Gah. Gah. That photo of me on the right is me a couple of months ago, needing to redo the Natural Instincts. In other words, it was washed out and that was my natural color. The gray is a bunch of individual little strands all around my hairline. I hate seeing them, but they aren’t too noticeable until/less I pull my hair back off my face. Which I do all the time when I am home and around mirrors, so I see it all the time.

I don’t dye my hair because I don’t want a different color, and I want to know it can wash out and be ME again. Also, I can never settle on the right shade to use, so I always put off doing it – the lightest blonde is too light. The middle one is too gold. And the darker one is too dark. I have tried them all individually and have combined every combination of two shades. I settled on liking the lightest and darkest together because they aren’t gold at all and it comes out looking pretty natural on me. My hair is naturally a medium golden blonde, but adding a gold color rinse makes it WOW too gold. My natural highlights come out looking yellow at first. HOWEVER this time I am going to mix all three and I am deathly afraid that it is going to come out — purple or something. I know that is crazy, but I am not a chemist. I am not even a hair stylist, cosmetologist, whatever. I had one bad experience with highlighting my hair when I was 20 and that put me off hair color for 25 years. This isn’t an area I march into bravely, and it is one where I wouldn’t go at all except for one thing…silver hair looks really funky next to gold hair.

5. I will of course need to get dressed and probably do more laundry.
6. I realize I left out a quick trip up the street to get Starbucks first. I am out of cream, and like Cardiogirl, I can’t drink coffee without cream. And unlike Cardiogirl, I don’t have a backup fridge with an extra gallon waiting for me.

On that note, I am out of here.

2 responses to “To Do, and then some

  1. bluesleepy says:

    My mom has dark blonde hair, and it’s really hard to see her grey hairs in amongst the blonde. It’s getting more noticeable now because she’s getting more grey, but you really have to be right up on top of her before you see it. And she’s 56!

    I colored my hair at the salon this last time, but for years and years and years I did it myself. I do know the color combo she used so I could theoretically re-create it myself, but it’s so much easier to let her do it.

  2. yaketyyak says:

    I spend WAY too much money having my hair colored at the the beauty salon. Unfortunately, I don’t have the nerve to do it myself. Good luck with the Natural Instincts combo!

Does this post make me look fat?

