Morning Fog

No longer atwitter

on April 22, 2008

Well, that love affair didn’t last long.
I loved the way I could go into Twitter and make the randomest of entries about what I was doing. I didn’t check in much at first, so I thought it was kinda fun, and it was also fun checking other people’s random little updates.
Then I added way too many friends. Hard to keep up.
So I thinned it out a bit, taking out the folks who NEVER logged in. Taking out a couple I didn’t know but seemed to know folks I did know. Still didn’t matter much.
The problem was that I didn’t have time to log in that often and when I did, I would have to sift through 4 or 5 (or more) pages of chat between the same 2 or 3 folks (love you guys, really) to catch the one or two little things from somebody else. Whatever, it got old. I got bored tweaking my background. People fizzled out and some dropped out. Then I did.
Can’t say I miss it. Maybe that is another one of those things I will try to get back to in the summer. When I have a life again.

Ok, random things.
1. My son had a bluegrass assembly at school today. He was so proud that he was the only one who could correctly identify a real live mandolin. We can thank Led Zeppelin for that. Who said rock ‘n roll is for losers? It’s obviously edjakayshunull.

2. The other night I was googling old boyfriends, as you do, and got way more than I bargained for. Actually, it was only ONE old boyfriend, and he was more of a fiance. And the on-again-off-again bane of my existence for what should have could have been the best three years of my life. And he almost wrecked my marriage a dozen years ago. And yet, still I wondered what he is up to.
You know, if you are sleuthy, you can find lots of pictures online. So I found him and his wife with a cute little picture of one of their sons…who turned out to be quite an athelete. Got written up in the newspaper a few times AND got a sports scholarship to a big school in the Midwest. The only thing I can say to that is that the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.
Then I found other pics of him…pictures taken very recently, looking better than a 50 year-old man should look. And so to the casual observer, things look to be going great in his life. I betcha there are still demons chasing him around though. Glad they aren’t chasing me. I’m happy to see him do well, and happier that it is without me. Having said that, there is a part of me that would love to call him up and have a chat. And the SMARTER part of me smacks the not-so-smart part of me upside the head and stares her down. Enough said about that.

3. Field trip on Friday. Day off next Monday. Things are looking up.

4. I got almost 8 hours of sleep last night. Felt like half-a-million bucks today. I might have to get that much sleep a few nights in a row to make it a full million. I can see that won’t happen tonight…

5. We got new phones at school last week. But that isn’t the good part…today they came after school and moved the phone that was one side of the room ACROSS the room so it can actually sit on my desk! What a concept! Do you have any idea how much easier that will make my life? Okay, it won’t really make that much difference. BUT I will be able to sit in my desk and talk to someone like a person, instead of screaming across the room HOLD ON I NEED TO GET ACROSS THE ROOM into the speaker. Did I ever mention that my classoom is really big? It’s big. It’s double-wide trailer big. So yeah, the phone is now proudly on my desk instead of sitting with the VCR and DVD player under the TV.

6. I went to a presentation at my school-for-next-year yesterday. I sat at a table, the only non-teacher. The only new teacher-for-next year. At the table were also – the teacher I am replacing, my son’s third grade teacher, his fourth grade teacher and his current teacher. I have balls of steel I think. Or I would if I had balls. Should it have felt awkward? Should I have felt uncomfortable or out of place or like an intruder? Hmmm….after the fact I wonder about these things, after I jump in with both feet.

7. Which leads me to my next fear. I am fearful about next year. Everything has been so smooth this year at my school. There is nowhere to go but down next year at the new school. My life outside school will improve, but what about AT school? I hope it works out and that I am not regretting my decision to move. I really am worried and I am not sure why. Why? HOLY CRAP what was I thinking. Starting all over. Same grade, but it’s going to be so different.

*sigh* I better go to bed before I work myself into a frenzy. And trust me, I have enough going on in my REAL life. I don’t need to sit here and worry about the future. And why am I being so negative about this? Probably because this year everything was such a perfect fit that I can’t imagine duplicating that. Oh well. Time will tell, and what’s the worst that could happen? They fire me? The parents stone me to death? I guess I will just take it in stride.

Unless it’s the stoning thing.

3 responses to “No longer atwitter

  1. wcdiva says:

    Yeah – I don’t twitter anymore either. I think you are going to do find next year. I only wish I had a teacher like you in our school. And the googling of old boyfriends. I do that too sometimes:) Then I realize they can google back:)

  2. bluesleepy says:

    Led Zeppelin, educational???? I’m sure they didn’t expect THAT!

    I’m always surprised that teachers have phones in their room. I mean, it makes sense, but it’s still surprising. Then again, I was amazed that the PA system was two-way when I was in school. I always wanted to be one of those kids, called down to the office over the PA system. “Mrs Smith??? Can you send Karyl down to the office? Her mother’s here to pick her up.” SWEET!! Alas, it never happened.

  3. chaosdaily says:

    I agree with you on Twitter. It runs in my google talk, so it’s always on, but I don’t go back and look to see what people said. I’m kind of a lurker in there…. I watch, but don’t post much. It reminds me of a huge chat room with only your friends in it…..

Does this post make me look fat?

