Morning Fog

What’s that funny taste

on April 18, 2008

Whoa, I forgot that last entry had no less that five six democrat faces on it. I got quite the little scare when I opened it up just then. I’ll be back to normal soon, I’ll be okay, no need to fuss.

What I really need help with is a potty issue.
I keep fine tuning my bathroom policies, trying to hit on the one that will click and be perfect for everyone. Having said that, no matter what my policy, it seems that 80% of my students adjust and do fine and never give me a problem and from what I can see, never need to use the bathroom.

It’s that other 20%.

So should I accept that nothing will work with them and the year will end with me STILL saying, “boys and girls you should have gone before school/during recess/during lunch/when you were at PE/Computer/Library and you shouldn’t have to go 5 minutes after you come back to class?”

Or I could just have an open bathroom policy and let kids come and go as they please and just LIVE with the fact that some of the kids will take advantage, get behind, drop out of school and be a burden on society for the rest of their natural lives.

Right now, they ask to go. We have a non-verbal sign – crossed fingers – they sign out, put the boys/girls pass on their desk and go. I try to bully them into not going more than once per day because they do have the morning/recess/lunch and everytime we are outside for something to ALSO go. One free pass during the day SHOULD be enough, right?

One little girl said she had to go and couldn’t wait 5 minutes before recess. Ok. Recess is 15 minutes. 2 minutes after we came in, she HAD to go again, ironically as we were passing out Math tests. That may not sound so bad, but she does that ALL the time. Even though I try to keep them to ONE bathroom leave per day, she typically runs in the 2-3 per day range. And I try not to be too harsh because I don’t want accidents. But I do make them feel guilty.

We tried tickets for awhile, and they could cash them in for prizes if they didn’t use them for the bathroom…but then we had accidents and lost tickets…too much.

Whenever I loosen up a little, it is like a free for all running to the bathroom.

I guess the year is going okay now if my biggest problem is bathroom breaks. Maybe I shouldn’t stress over it. Maybe I should just let them go and let the chips fall where they may.

There is a little boy who only has one kidney, so he gets carte blanche about leaving to pee or get a drink of water. I don’t know enough about only having one kidney to say if that is necessary or not, but if the poor little guy has to live with only one kidney, I am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Please feel free to discuss pee, bathroom breaks in general, kidneys or children who try to take advantage of their teachers and/or just want to get out of the classroom.

4 responses to “What’s that funny taste

  1. Brian says:

    Clothes pins & corks. Pass them out as the kids enter the room first thing. (Kidding, mostly)

    Mr. Mono Kidney – So? The kidney filters the blood, removes wastes and sends them of to the bladder. When the bladder reaches critical mass the ‘urge’ appears. Having one kidney is no problem. In fact, the one kidney will actually increase in size in order to accommodate it’s increased work load. The human body is an amazing thing.

    I do remember that in kindergarten and 1st grade we had bathrooms right off our class room. It wasn’t unitl 2nd grade we had to use the common rest rooms. But even then, we only shared it with the other 2nd grade class. (I went to a pretty small school then) (in the 60’s!!)

  2. bluesleepy says:

    I have to say, I have pissed off my teachers more times than I can count because of my bathroom habits. When I was in high school, I ALWAYS had to go during last period. I had first lunch, which meant I had a whole ‘nother period to go before the last period of the day. Plus I had to go from one end of a large high school to another in my 6 minute passing period. I was so afraid of being marked late that I would show up to class as quickly as possible, and then ask the teacher if I could go to the restroom real quick. She was always angry at me and wanted to know why I didn’t go during lunch. Even if I did go during lunch, I still had to go right before last period. That’s why I tried to go right when I got to class, instead of waiting till halfway through the 90-minute period. I’ve just always had to use the restroom about an hour after lunch; it’s the way I’m built, I guess.

  3. l'empress says:

    Y’know, I was one of those kids who had a “situation,” and I was always allowed to go whenever I had to; I never abused the privilige. So I understand where they’re coming from.

    However, there are ways of dealing with these problems — just a little. And if the kids don’t get it, they may never get it. I once worked with a young woman who had to go to the bathroom every single time I was supposed to teach her something new. (I was supposed to offload some of my tasks to give me more time for the others; I spent most of the time waiting for her.)

    As usual, “I’ve looked at life from both sides…”

  4. purple chai says:

    i’m thinking that if you have kids who continue to abuse the bathroom, you might ask their parents if there’s a situation, and if the parents tell you the kid really does need to go often, then they go. If the parent says they don’t, then maybe a plan with the parents to teach the kid that you don’t just go whenever a test is being given out, or whatever, because they turn into the boy who cried wolf. Just a thought.

Does this post make me look fat?

