Morning Fog

Blarney II

on March 15, 2008

stpatrickday.jpg It has been a season of Hills and Valleys. One small example: a few weeks ago a 2nd grade father at my school died after a relatively short battle with cancer. A few days ago 1st grade mother died after a slightly longer battle with cancer. In the midst of the depth of sorrow this has generated, while living though the sadness of seeing mothers in my class hugging each other and sobbing, I found out that I got the other job I wanted. Yippee.

St. Patrick’s Day draws ever closer.
Another blessing,

May you have food and raiment,
A soft pillow for your head;
And may you be forty years in heaven
Before the Devil knows you’re dead!

And this wouldn’t be fun at all without another Limerick, especially on that melds Irish Culture with French language, two of my favorite things:

An Irishman name of Pat Sweeney
In Nice drank a quart of Martini.
The local gendarme
Wired his wife in alarm,
“Nous regrettons Pat Sweeney est fini.”

I have come across them before, but in the last couple of days I have found myself blogsurfing across a multitude of Catholic Blogs. Mostly I got sucked into links about St. Patrick’s Day, because after all, it is SAINT PATRICK’S FEAST DAY, and not really a day about leprechauns and green beer.

You know, there is a whole ‘nother world out there with people who name their blogs with Latin names, and there is even a Catholic Blog Award. This one, Fisheaters.com (oh, yeah, some of them have clever names, like Amatuer Catholic and Ironic Catholic) has a great summary of St. Patrick (and is where I snatched that purty picture at the top of this entry) with all kinds of history about and writings from St. Patrick.
One quotes a priest from Dublin, Ireland, saying :”Patrick was not Irish, and on his Feast Day, we do not celebrate being Irish; we celebrate being Catholic.”
That puts things in in perspective. Kind of like how we use a nothing-day in Mexico (Cinco de Mayo) and use it as an excuse to drink Tequila…

The little Blarney book I bought tells how in Ireland, on St. Patrick’s Day, they wear a shamrock and go to church. In America, we wear leprechaun hats and green. We have parades and Irish music, eat corned beef and cabbage, and wash it all down with Guinness. I am all for the Guinness, by the way…

I found a quote on one of those blogs from Flannery O’Connor, so it is very relevant to the whole Irish immersion thing I have going on here: “You shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you odd.” Being odd is a kind of freedom, I suppose.

I especially liked this quote, and just try to tell me this one isn’t true:

The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies; probably because they are generally the same people.” – -G.K. Chesterton

4 responses to “Blarney II

  1. l'empress says:

    Great news about the job — mazel tov!

    I’ve written about St.Patrick’s Day more than once; I think I may have solved the dilemma (or whatever you want to call it). Professional Irish may not go for it, of course.

    Are you aware that picture on your page resembles Lauren Bacall?

  2. LA says:

    My Irishman was startled to find out corned beef and cabbage was an American thing. As is so much of the other blarney blather on March 17th. Doesn’t stop him from getting his green on though. At least we both agree that soda bread is disgusting. Besides I don’t mind making a pot of boiled, I like corned beef anytime. ~LA

  3. twisterjester says:

    OMG I absolutely LOVE the quote. I am halfway tempted to steal it.

    But how tragic to see two of your class parents die in such a short time. I cannot imagine how difficult it must be to deal with grieving little ones 😦

  4. Mary says:

    Congratulations on the new job! Great news! I hate Guinness, and I hate corned beef and cabbage. My poor mother wants to throw a big party on St Patrick’s Day every year, and every year I decline. I am old enough I don’t have to eat stuff I hate anymore.

Does this post make me look fat?

