Morning Fog

Blarney

on March 11, 2008

Since St. Patrick’s Day approaches, I have slipped into my annual Irish Mindset.
I bought a slew of books to read to the class, plus few for myself. One was a tiny little book full of Irish Blessings. I love Irish blessings. Almost as much as I love limericks.

Here is my favorite, and of course the best known:

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

And a limerick:

A bather whose clothing was strewed,

By winds that left her quite nude,

Saw a man come along,

And unless we are wrong,

You expected this line to be lewd.

1171189308nnnaej.jpg

2 responses to “Blarney

  1. twisterjester says:

    I’d heard the first prayer, naturally, but hadn’t seen the limerick before. Very cute!

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  2. chaosdaily says:

    I missed the passworded posts… are you sharing the password? drkchoclover @ gmail.com if you are… thanks!

Does this post make me look fat?

