Morning Fog

Superstitious, me?

on February 19, 2008

I wrote a really beautiful and clever entry about all the wonderful things in my life yesterday. I am not sure why I didn’t post it, but as it turned out, I was glad I didn’t.

Not that anything went wrong (knocking on my own wooden head here), but WOW did it seem like I was tempting fate. You know that as soon as you put that kind of thing in print, something way too horrible to contemplate will happen.

On that note, I am sad about one thing; there are family members at the school where I teach who are in need of divine intervention.

First of all, one of the fathers died over the weekend. He was young with 2 young girls. He was diagnosed with cancer last fall, and whoosh, just like that, he is gone.

Then there is a mother who has been battling leukemia for probably a year? She had a bone marrow transplant in the fall, which should be a agent for remission, no? No. She isn’t doing well either…new treatment beginning. She has three little ones, the oldest in first grade. Her husband was deployed in Iraq, but was sent home early as her condition became more grave.

Then there is a little sister of some kids in school. Last year she was diagnosed with brain cancer. She was proclaimed to be terminal. But hope prevailed, and through nothing short of a miracle, and with the help of St. Jude’s Hospital, she was cancer-free and doing quite well for months. Until last month. They have found more cancer in her brain. She is just a baby…maybe 2 years old. I am not even sure if she is that old. There isn’t much hope for her this time around.

And then one of the teachers has a daughter-in-law who was just diagnosed with cancer. She can’t be very old.

So much pain.

I don’t know…I know cancer isn’t a contagious thing. But it is so eery when you get a cluster of people with it around you. When I was student teaching, both schools were reeling under the number of mothers and teachers with cancer…mostly breast cancer. It did make you stop and ponder…if not contagious, is there something in the water? The air?
Or could it be something akin to stress?
Diet?
I have to say that all in all, folks around here are pretty darn cautious about what they eat. As a rule. I noticed a huge difference in quality of consumables between Northern and Southern California faculty rooms. Down here people are awash in fresh fruits and veggies, whole grains, and generally healthier choices. Up there, it was as bad as you wanna be. Help yourself to nachos and pie and wash it down with hot chocolate. And then have brownies, cookies and leftover Halloween candy as a later-on snack. Sure I am generalizing, because that is what I do. But there is a noticeable difference in the schools that I was associated with, anyway.

I’d like to strike a lighter note right about now, but thinking about that was a real downer. Cue some deep, low, somber notes.

One response to “Superstitious, me?

  1. Brian says:

    I was thinking along similar lines lately. Is it that there are more cases of cancer (or any other malady) lately, or are we more interconnected, and therefore more aware of all that is going on?

    I suspect it’s both. Not that it matters to those that are affected. Still, to have a cluster affect so many, and so young, near you is unsettling to say the least. I hope everybody finds the comfort they so surely need.

Does this post make me look fat?

