Morning Fog

Trick Question

on January 29, 2008

“What color do leaves on evergreen trees stay all year long?”

According to one of my students (and this was a multiple choice question, and might I point out the green in everGREEN?) the answer is purple.

Yes. Purple.

I’m slapping my head right now.

7 responses to “Trick Question

  1. G says:

    Aren’t they EVER green? hehe

  2. clairec23 says:

    Hehe…

    Anytime my son gets forgets the name of a colour, he calls it purple.

  3. Brian says:

    Any chance the wee one is color blind? Green/red is one of the more common losses I think.

    Years and years ago, one of my brothers had a thing for calling purple “graple” He was five at the time, and considering there was lemon yellow and orange – why not graple?

  4. freshhell says:

    Well, most magnolias are evergreens and they have very big leaves. I think you just have some imaginative students. My youngest thinks “purple” is a perfectly satisfactory answer to any question.

  5. l'empress says:

    A good opportunity, perhaps, for a little talk on “listening.”

  6. cardiogirl says:

    Okay as soon as I saw “Trick Question” I over analyzed and decided that evergreens don’t actually have leaves, per se. They have needles. I am aware that the needles are green until they die and become a burnt orange type color.

    So I was all set to say, evergreen trees do not, in fact, have leaves. Then I saw the first-grader’s answer. And felt like a dumbass.

  7. Fi says:

    Perhaps it isn’t your own head you should be slapping…

Does this post make me look fat?

