Morning Fog

Two things

on January 25, 2008

ONE

Last week, while discussing something,(Martin Luther King, I think), one of my kids raised her hand.
Mrs. LPH—?
Yes?
Are you from the olden days?
(what raced through my head was CERTAINLY NOT MY FATHER IS FROM THE OLDEN DAYS!)
I giggled a little and said, It depends what you mean by the olden days. Maybe.
You know, she said, when TV was black and gray?

OK, two things to note: all it takes to be from the olden days is remembering black and white TV, and OLDEN DAYS! This kid is an anachronism. Who says Olden Days anymore? Do people still use that term? Apparently 6 years do.

TWO

Little boy sitting at a table today…I had a group there, and they were struggling with the concept of stringing sentences together as you write, and not starting on a whole new line just because it is a new sentence (like a list). So I was getting a tad frustrated. He had started over and redone it SEVERAL times. Finally, he got it. I SAW the lightbulb click on.
A few minutes later, he says:
You know, Mrs. LPH—, you know back then, when you were teaching me that and I wasn’t getting it and then I did?
Yes?
You know, you were like a mom helping me do my homework, weren’t you? You are a really good mom.
sniff

A few minutes later he gave me the biggest, longest hug. Ever.

8 responses to “Two things

  1. Brian says:

    TWO: What better reward than that? Makes you want to go back and do it all again tomorrow, doesn’t it?

    ONE: Black & gray TV?? Really? That young lady needs detention for a month for even thinking that.

    l’empress – up until my barber retired a couple of years ago, that ka-ching machine was what he used for, well, what it was used for. It was an antique when I started going there, oh, about 40 years ago.

  2. G says:

    That’s SO SWEET! If I did that w/ a h.s. kid, I’d be arrested for groping them. My friend is a 1st grade teacher and I’m jealous that she can get hugs from her cute little kids. We were out the other evening for dinner and a former student came up to her and nearly tackled her to the ground. *sniff* It was cute.

  3. clairec23 says:

    That’s so sweet. I don’t know how people can dislike kids 🙂

  4. LA says:

    Oh wow, that is wonderful! First graders are the best. ~LA

  5. l'empress says:

    How many of you who say “ka-ching!” actually saw the kind of machine that sounds like that?

  6. Rosietoes says:

    If the kids realized that you pre-date cellphones, answering machines, microwaves, video games, personal computers, etc, etc, then they’d really know what the olden days were ! *LOL*

    As for the other little boy, I echo yaketyyak…Awwwwwww! How sweet of him! It’s the little moments like that that make everything all worth it, even if we did ride dinosaurs to school!

  7. yankeechick says:

    The sweet rewards of all your hard work!!!

  8. yaketyyak says:

    Awwwwwww. How precious!

Does this post make me look fat?

