Morning Fog

Let it snow

on December 26, 2007

It is still snowing on my blog page. Thank you to those of you who gave me the appropriate compliments. But I can’t take too much credit…anyone with a wordpress blog can have the same thing going on. It is snowing here until January 24th.

Tomorrow is my mother’s birthday. She is turning 79. That is so sad because she is getting so old and she isn’t in very good shape. Time is marching on AND thumbing his nose at me.

I don’t know what to do about my job. I actually love my job, as I described in one post a while back. It is just working that I hate. But I love the kids and my co-workers and being in First Grade. Honest…I love it.

The dilemma is that I would rather be at my son’s school, and they have a few openings for next year. I don’t know how to go about getting a job there without pissing off my current bosses. Or if it would piss them off, for that matter. But if I moved to his school:

1. I would have a better commute: I would go from spending about an hour a day commuting to about 10 minutes, maybe 15. That is round trip, and of course that commute doubles on the occasions I have to go back at night for something.

2. I would be with my son. On his schedule. That would be nice. I would be more in tune with what is going on in his school, and I wouldn’t be trying to keep facts and figures straight in my head for two schools.

3. Even if I didn’t get a raise, just the gas savings alone would be a raise, if you know what I mean and I bet you do.

I think that is it for the pros. With my son and closer to home. Big pros.

The cons:

1. I like my school and would definitely miss some of the people and kids.

2. I like being in first grade and it would be easier teaching it the second time around.

3. The people who hired me are really nice, I appreciate the fact that they hired me, and I know they wanted some stability in the grade level for awhile. They would probably understand if I left, but I don’t think it is what they were looking for when they hired me.

The dilemma here is that I don’t know how to even bring this up to the principal since SHE knew my school was going to hire me before I DID. I think the second I tell her that I am interested, they will know back at my school. What to do? I don’t want them to think I am unhappy or job searching. I really only want to leave if I can go to my son’s school.

AND, I would be teaching something other than first grade. I really wanted first grade, and I think I’m doing a good job there.

Oh well, I guess I will mull this over tonight and tomorrow while sitting out over the ocean in Laguna Beach, celebrating my mom’s 79th.

But I am open to advice. Bring it.

4 responses to “Let it snow

  1. fortyplus says:

    I think your “bosses” would understand given the reasons you stated.

  2. Brian says:

    Would you eventually follow your son to middle school and high school too? Perhaps being at the same school as your youngest shouldn’t be a criteria. You can’t be on the same schedule as him forever. Like Miss Hiss says, he also needs his independence.

    The commute savings I can totally support.

    About those cons – in the end, you have to do what is best for you. Only you can decide that. Take your time, meditate on it, then follow your gut instincts.

  3. Miss Hiss says:

    I absolutely adore the snow falling on your little pink house. And re your job dilemma, my sincere advice would be NOT to teach at your son’s school. He needs his independence and you need yours. From my experience, parents who teach at their children’s schools almost always end up disappointed and frustrated, and their kids end up miserable and secretly wishing they could please just have their own space and privacy for even a few hours a day without an omnipresent parent on the scene. I really believe you’ll both be far happier and more balanced if you keep your emotional and physical distance from it, and retain your own workplace and workspace. Love, R xxx

  4. twisterjester says:

    Everything will work out. It sounds like the “cons” are things that will be resolved with time, but the “pros” are long-term positives.

Does this post make me look fat?

